Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
Fierce Legal DWI Defense
Under Chapter 49 of the Texas Penal Code, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. For drivers of commercial vehicles, the legal limit is lowered to 0.04 percent. An underage driver – defined by Texas law as anyone under 21 – can be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) for any detectable level of alcohol in his or her system.
DWI Penalties in the State of Texas
If you or someone close to you has been arrested for DWI, it is imperative that you contact a criminal defense attorney right away. We can fight for you to help you secure the best possible outcome for your DWI case.
Penalties for a first-time DWI offense may include:
- Between 3 and 180 days in jail
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- License suspension for up to 2 years
- Possible mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
- Possible mandatory participation in a DWI education / prevention program
Even for a first-time DWI conviction, the consequences you face could be significantly increased if certain aggravating factors are present. For example, if a passenger in your vehicle at the time of the arrest is under age 15, you could be fined $10,000 and sentenced to 2 years of imprisonment. In addition to serious criminal penalties, a DWI can carry other consequences, including increased car insurance premiums and a permanent mark on your driving record.
Experienced DWI Lawyer
Schneider Law Firm is a dedicated criminal defense firm with a reputation for successful advocacy. We understand the seriousness of the situation you face, and we are here to protect your interests effectively and aggressively. If you have been accused of drunk driving, do not hesitate to retain the strong legal support you need. Contact Schneider Law Firm today to schedule a free consultation with a member of our DWI defense team.